Physical Features of India


Describe the physiographic divisions or physical features of India.


Physiographic division of India is:
  1. The Himalayan Mountains: Geologically young and fold mountains stretch over the northern borders of India. These are the one of the most rugged mountain barriers of the world.
  2. The Northern Plain: It is about 2400km long and 240-320km wide. Formed by interplay of three major river systems - the Indus, the Ganga and the Brahamputra. It is rich in fertile alluvial soil.
  3. The Peninsular Plateau: The tableland composed of old crystalline igenous and metamorphic rocks. It is abundant with shallow valleys and rounded hills.
  4. The Indian Desert: It lies towards the western margins of the Aravalli Hills and has arid climate with low vegetation cover.
  5. The Coastal Plains: These plains are stretched along the eastern and the western edges of the peninsular plateau.
  6. The Islands: Two island groups - The Lakshadweep Islands and the Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Physical Features of India

Q 1.

What are Tectonic Plates?

Q 2.

Describe the physiographic divisions or physical features of India.

Q 3.

Name the landmasses that were included in the Gondwanaland.

Q 4.

What is bhabar?

Q 5.

What is the bhabar?

Q 6.

Name the three major divisions of the Himalayas from north to south.

Q 7.

Name the island group of India having coral origin.

Q 8.

What are the relief features that are found in the Northern Plains?

Q 9.

Write a short note on The Indian Desert.

Q 10.

Describe how the Himalayas were formed.

Q 11.

Give an account of the Northern Plains of India.

Q 12.

Distinguish Between Western Ghats and Eastern Ghats.

Q 13.

Which continents of today were part of the Gondwana land?

Q 14.

Discuss the geological structure of India.

Q 15.

Distinguish Between Converging and Diverging Tectonic Plates

Q 16.

Which are the major physiographic divisions of India? Contrast the relief of the Himalayan region with that of the Peninsular plateau.

Q 17.

Which plateau lies between the Aravalli and the Vindhyan ranges?

Q 18.

Write short notes on the following.(i) The Indian Desert, (ii) The Central Highlands
(iii) The Island Groups of India

Q 19.

Distinguish Between Bhangar and Khadar.

Q 20.

Write three important features of Aravalli Hills.